The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Program & Registration

Neuroscience Day 2024: MAY 7th, 2024

Venue: Fernström Lecture Hall, Forum Medicum Sölvegatan 19, Lund

Tuesday, May 7th, 2024

09.00-09.10        Introduction by Martin Garwicz

09.10-09.50        Ernest Arenas
Karolinska Institutet, MBB, Laboratory of Molecular Neurobiology, Stockholm
A Biography of human midbrain dopaminergic neurons
Chair: Malin Parmar

09.50-10.10        Break
10.10-10.50       Gabriele Lignani
University College London, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology
Gene therapy for epilepsy
Chair: Merab Kokaia

10.50-11.30        Anna Beyeler
INSERM, Neurocampus Bordeaux, France
Neurobiological links between emotional valence and anxiety
Chair: Andreas Heuer

11.30 – 12.00    Flash talks: selected abstracts 
Chair: Laura Castilla Vallmanya  
Information on the upcoming session

1.    Anita Adami
Laboratory of Molecular Neurogenetics, Department of Experimental Medical Sciences, Wallenberg Neuroscience Center and Lund Stem Cell Center, Lund University
Uncovering a region-specific neuroinflammatory response in Parkinson's disease using single-nuclei RNA-seq analysis

2.    Sofia Bergh
Translational Neuroendocrine Research Unit (TNU), Department of Experimental Medical Science, Lund University
Overexpression of tdp-43 in the hypothalamus drives neuropathology, dysregulates metabolism and impairs behaviour in mice

3.    Jonas Fritze
Single cell RNA sequencing of aging neural progenitors reveals loss of excitatory neuron potential and a population with transcriptional immune response

4.    Alice Hägg
Neural Stem Cells, Department of Experimental Medical Science, Lund Stem Cell Center, Lund University
Enhancing neural stem cell commitment through on-chip neural induction: A strategy for iPSC-based therapies

5.    Jari Jukkola
Department of Experimental Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Lund University
Nasal efflux of cerebrospinal fluid adapts to flow rate and olfactory neural damage in live mice

6.    Edoardo Sozzi
Developmental and Regenerative Neurobiology, Lund Stem Cell Center, Department of Experimental Medical Science, Faculty of Medicine, Lund University
Co-graft of dopamine progenitors and supporting cells to enhance cell-based therapy for Parkinson´s Disease

7.    Juliane F. Tampé
Laboratory of Stem Cells and Restorative Neurology, Lund Stem Cell Center, Lund University
Human monocyte subtype expression of neuroinflammation and regeneration-related genes is linked to age and sex

12.00-13.15        Lunch break (light lunch provided for registered participants at 12.00)

13.15-14.45        Poster session 
Chair: Laura Castilla Vallmanya
- posters need stay up until 15.30

14.45-15.15      Meet the speakers: foyer of Forum Medicum
Join any speaker’s table for an informal discussion
15.15-15.50       Reception, mingle with refreshments 

15.45-15.50        Announcement of awards for Best Presentations
Christine Ekdahl Clementson & Laura Castilla Vallmanya  

15.50-16.00        Announcement of grants awarded by the Segerfalk Foundation
Martin Garwicz

16.00-17.00        SEGERFALK LECTURE 2024

Diploma awarded by Ingrid Agartz, The Thorsten and Elsa Segerfalk Foundation

Anne Schaefer
Mount Sinai, New York, USA / Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing, Köln, Germany
The operational principles of neuron-microglia circuits
Chair: Johan Jakobsson

Organizing committee: Anders Björklund, Christine Ekdahl Clementson, Martin Garwicz, Måns Magnusson, Bo Norrving, Malin Parmar, Åsa Petersén, Oskar Hansson, Maria Compagno Strandberg, Daniella Rylander Ottosson, Andreas Heuer, Merab Kokaia, Johan Mårtensson, Laura Castilla Vallmanya  and Paulina Pettersson (co-ordinator).


Neuroscience Day is sponsored by The Thorsten and Elsa Segerfalk Foundation.

2024 Anita Adami poster prize